Book online
or call

0844 557 4321

Open today: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Other days
  • Mon - Fri9:00am - 9:00pm
  • Saturday9:00am - 7:00pm
  • Sunday10:00am - 6:00pm

Email this page





At a glance

  • All-Inclusive Resort
  • Cliff-Top Barbecues
  • 3 Bars
  • Extensive activities
  • White Sand Beach

Hotel facilities

Bar

Fitness Centre

Internet Access

Sailing

Tennis

Wind Surfing

All Inclusive

Beach Holiday

Check In Chill Out

Golf

Honeymoon

Wedding

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating

4.0

Late deals for this hotel

I would like to see late deals for stays of:

Please wait…
No deals available for your selected duration.

Prices shown are per person, based on [PartySize] sharing.

Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

1 of 12 photos
WEATHER HERE

Set on the breathtaking white-sand Long Bay beach, on the eastern coast of Antigua, this resort offers an all-inclusive holiday with an authentic Caribbean ambiance. Dine in the 4 delicious restaurants including the stunning Outhouse, set up in the hill with great views of the Caribbean Sea, where Miss Mary serves her specialities, or savour a cooling drink at the 3 bars. During the day relax on the white-sand beach or enjoy the variety of water and land sports on offer. In the evening the night lights up with live entertainment, evening shows and dancing.

Where is it?

On Long Bay beach, on the north east coast. 30 min to St John’s, Antigua's capital. Transfer time from airport: 30 min.

Larger Map

Room information

180 rooms on up to 3 floors in 11 buildings. All with air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone, tea/coffee maker, safety deposit box and hairdryer. Gardenview Room - have a communal balcony or private patio with garden and/or partial ocean views. Rooms with queen-size bed or 2 double beds, sleeping up to 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years.

Room Upgrade

Oceanview Room - set back in the hillside and overlooking the resort, these rooms have fabulous sea views, private patio or balcony, 1 king-size bed, sleeping max 2 adults, or 2 adults and 1 child with a rollaway bed (these rooms are not suitable for guests with walking difficulties).

Beachfront Room - recently refurbished, are located right on the beach and have a communal balcony or private patio. With 2 double beds or 1 king-size bed, sleeping max 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years.

Tropical Waterfront Room - beautifully refurbished rooms, set on the water’s edge and featuring  private patio or balcony with exquisite views of Long Bay. All rooms equipped with brand-new patio/balcony doors, bathrooms with walk-in shower. Rooms have 1 king-size or 2 queen-size beds sleeping 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years.

Eats and drinks

Topaz offers breakfast and lunch buffets and a combination of buffet and à la carte dinner, just steps away from the beach. Chef's Pietro serves regional Italian specialities in a spectacular Caribbean beachside setting. Pineapple Grill offers authentic Caribbean à la carte dishes 4 nights per week. Pelican Snack Bar serves pizzas, light lunch and midnight snacks. Lunch is also served daily at the unique ‘Outhouse’, where, from a stunning cliff-top location, Miss Mary serves her famous barbecue ribs and jerk chicken. The resort also features 3 bars, including a disco bar and a beach bar. Restaurants open on rotation.

Fun and games

2 swimming pools, including 1 quiet adult-only pool. Tennis, beach volleyball, bocce ball, table tennis and an assortment of board games. Windsurfing, snorkelling, Hobie Cats and kayaks. Massage therapy* and beauty services* also available.

Entertainment

Entertainment programme with live music, karaoke, limbo dancing and fire-eater shows, as well as weekly welcome cocktail parties and theme nights.

Handy stuff

Babysitting service*, laundry service* and Internet access*.

Additional information

*Denotes local charge

All Inclusive of

All meals and snacks, unlimited drinks by the glass, all water and land sports and activities above unless otherwise specified.

Dress code: Smart dress for ladies and collared shirts, trousers and closed shoes for gents in the evenings please, with no shorts, sleeveless shirts, T-shirts or flip-flops when dining in the Pineapple Grill Restaurant or resort casual for all other restaurants.

Minimum stay

2 nights.

Accessibility

Good general access around the property: properties that offer good general access for those guests who are able to walk short distances and can manage up to six steps. The Virgin Holidays Special Assistance Team can be contacted by e-mail at special.assistance@virginholidays.com or call us on 0844 557 3998, Monday-Friday 9.00am-5.30pm.

Check Prices Back to top

Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

  • What to Expect:
    • 4.5 Sleep Quality
    • 4.5 Location
    • 4.0 Rooms
    • 4.0 Service
    • 4.0 Value
    • 4.0 Cleanliness
  • Traveller Rating:
    • Excellent (994)
    • Very Good (1042)
    • Average (358)
    • Poor (144)
    • Terrible (105)

We have just returned from a week at GP and we had a great time. Flew out with Virgin from Gatwick, great staff and really good flight. Transfer to the resort was quick and we were met with a very...

TripAdvisor LLC. All rights reserved.

4 of 5 stars
Nov 23, 2014 - gailEngland - england

We have just returned from a week at GP and we had a great time. Flew out with Virgin from Gatwick, great staff and really good flight. Transfer to the resort was quick and we were met with a very... Read more strong rum punch and cold towel! We were staying in room 107 beachfront. A great location walking straight out onto the beach. Yes it could have done with a lick of paint and a new bathroom but it was kept spotlessly clean by the hard working house keeping staff. And the bed as so comfortable and huge! We found all the staff very helpful , friendly and hard working. This was our first time AI and we found the food to be good. The egg station run by Winscome was excellent. She makes the best omelettes. We ate wlunch twice at The Outhouse Ribs and chicken really good. And amazing views . Lunch time Buffett was good but we preferred the evening meal when it was al acarte . We also ate at the Pineapple grill which did excellent steak. The birds in the restaurant were not as bad as I had expected and we did not see too many flies. The drinks at the bar were cold and plentiful ! The beach front location is the obvious selling point for this resort and was out of this world. We arranged a trip to Shirley Heights on the Sunday evening through Joseph on the beach. It was $25 each and we were picked up at 4 in an airconditioned mini bus and we left at 8 so back in time for dinner. The sunset was not the greatest as unfortunately it was cloudy but the steel band and the live reggae band were outstanding. It was a great atmosphere. We hired a car from the desk at the hotel for 2 days for $120. We went to Nelsons dockyard and has lunch at oj's on Turners beach one day and went to Jolly harbour and the beach The next day. We had great jerk chicken and a couple of mojitosfrom a local stall on the beach for lunch. The weather was great upto the last couple of days when it was rainy and cloudy most of the time but at least it as still warm and it beats work! Would we go back? Yes for the beach! No if it becomes a beaches resort. Definitely if instead of this they just refurbished the existing resort. Read less

3 of 5 stars
Nov 23, 2014 - rclark1650 - newport wales

After 9 years, our 4th visit. Returned home with the same feelings about how delightful this resort was and its' idyllic setting - a true taste of the Caribbean at a very good price for AI. However... Read more there are issues. Change is in the air and not being managed. Staff ( customer focussed to senior management ), appear to being " kept in the dark " as to when Sandals close this Resort down. We returned for a final taste when May 2015 was muted - just returned - 22/11/14 and found that dates had moved to whenever. As a result staff seemed demotivated, service levels mixed, chaos on any non-buffet nights & understaffing throughout. Running down - yes - but no evidence of any professional change management in sight. Convinced that this lies with the Sandals Echelon living "in the skies", way above the entire staff at Pineapple. As such we would both like to thank you all for a great break, so nice to see old " faces " and meet some excellent new staff. Do your best and we wish you well for the future. Sadly we would not return , but no fault of The Pineapple as it was in 2003, 2004, 2005, but the lack of clear direction and fall in service levels in 2014 by Sandals suggests that it is going to be a pretty grim 12 - 18 months for both staff & future guests at this resort. Read less

1 of 5 stars
Nov 21, 2014 - ian h - West Huntspill, United Kingdom

if you want to sit on the beach all day,not a bad place,if you want any kind of customer service,go to another resort,the management team have not got a clue,under staffed in every area,some of the... Read more staff do what they can but the large majority just do not care,breakfast was a joke dirty tables you had to wait for and no service,had some direct dealings with Barbara she is something to do with staff management she is completely out of her depth all she kept on doing was apologising for poor quality service, I have not got enough time to detail every deficiency with this resort,we spent a lot of hard earned money going to this resort please do not make the same mistake we did Read less

5 of 5 stars
Nov 21, 2014 - Keely H - Dunstable, United Kingdom

Me and my other half stayed at the Grand Pineapple from the 14th Oct - 24th Oct and arrived the day after the HUGE tropical storm, when we got there the island was obviously damaged from the storm... Read more and that evening we had a big thunderstorm and the most amount of rain I have ever seen! But the hotel staff where fantastic considering the situation and the next day you would have never know there was a storm, all the sea weed and broken trees and mess was cleaned up by mid morning. Our room was lovely it was an ocean view room and it looked very Caribbean chic, stunning four poster bed that you almost needed a run and jump to get onto! (I'm only 5"3) it had a TV, excellent aircon, a decent area to get ready in and apply my make up and a decent bathroom. We loved our room but if you are looking for plush 5* then this is not for you, if you can appreciate real Caribbean touch then you will love it! There is a slight walk up but nothing to drastic. The beach was the best thing about this holiday its a little touch of paradise, stunning soft white sand, palm trees lots of sun beds and you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn to get one. We used to stroll down to breakfast and place our towels down just before we sat to eat. The pool was also night but we didn't spend to much time there as the beach was so nice. The food was so good! I put on a fair bit of weight on this holiday due to the food! Now I hate buffets in all inclusive hotels but on the nights when they had buffets the food was really good and had quite a bit of choice. The main restaurant actually had waited table service on a few nights which I was impressed with. We ate at the Pineapple Grill but was not overly impressed and preferred the main restaurant. MARY'S OUT HOUSE is out of this world we ate there every single lunch time! The best ribs and chicken I have ever eaten a BBQ will never tast the same and if you get a chance to eat the beans they are a must have! Its a self service when you are up there and there is a big ice create of beer and a machine for fizzy drinks. There is quite a few mongooses up there which are nice to watch, we used to feed them our left overs. If you want to do trips you need to visit Marvelous Marvin on the beach you will know its him as he wears a crisp bright white shirt with a name tag. We did Sting Ray City trip which I was not to fussed to do but my other half really wanted to do it so we went I am really glad he made me go as it was the best thing I have ever done! Really amazing! We also did the catamaran with snorkeling which was not good at all and we wish we hadn't wasted a hole day doing it. We didn't see hardly any thing snorkeling and there was 60 of us rammed on the the catamaran and could really move and there was not much shade so there was a lot of very burnt people. This holiday over all was perfect just what we needed - relaxing with bits to do, good food, lovely people and laid back. We are hoping to go back same time next year we loved it that much hoping that they don't referb it before then. You can defiantly see why people return! Read less

2 of 5 stars
Nov 20, 2014 - yvonne_brown - York, United Kingdom

we stayed here from the 15th Sept for 10 days. We have been awaiting a reply from Virgin holidays hence the reason for not submitting this review earlier. Arrived around 3.30pm - checked in okay... Read more and shown to our Garden Room which had a lovely view of the gardens and the beach. Room very tired and grubby but the bed was comfortable. Went for a drink and a snack then back to our room. We only had 1 choice of restaurant that night which was the Italian a la carte. A lot of people on trip advisor said this was the worst so wasn't looking forward to our meal. My husband had lasagne and I had chicken with pasta. My meal arrived in a congealed lump. I didn't eat much as it was only lukewarm but a piece of chicken I bit into wasn't very nice. We went to bed early as we had been travelling a long time. Around 5am I woke with an upset stomach. By 9ish I was being sick. After the 3rd time my husband went to the Nurses Station to report this. She arrived and took my blood pressure. I had to fill in a form stating what I had eaten in the last 3 days. I later went to see the Doctor who said I had food poisoning and diagnosed antibiotics and rehydration salts. The Manager (Barbara) came to my room with another nurse as they wanted to take my blood pressure regularly. She said it must have been something I had eaten at the airport or on the plane or even a change in climate and the travelling!! She Said it would not be from the hotel. After a couple of days on dried bread and crackers I felt a lot better. My husband spoke to the Virgin Rep and we had to have a 'fit to fly' form before we left the hotel. The rep didn't even bother coming to our room to see if I was ok. Getting this form took another 2 days backwards and forwards to the Nurses Station. Surely they should have brought it to us. Food in general was rubbish. The best meal was breakfast and a fresh omelette made by Winsome. Lunch - we ended up going to the Outhouse for ribs every day as the buffet lunch was again only lukewarm. Evening meal - after my experience of the General Restaurant we booked into the Pineapple Grill. Well what a disaster that was. In 10 days I only had 2 meals that was hot. You had to wait about an hour for your main course. One evening mine was stone cold. We ended up just walking out or I would have blown my top. So my evening meal consisted of a bowl of soup. Errol who works in here is trying very hard to make it a 'wonderful' experience but it's not - he's wasted there. He is so pleasant and polite. The Bar - Zauda and Ali were always happy and friendly but the drinks weren't the good. The Beach - Luckily enough the beach and the sea were lovely. You still had to get up early and put a towel out if you needed beds with a brolly but there were plenty without. On our last day I overheard one member of staff saying they couldn't wait for it to be knocked down. My husband contacted Virgin holidays when we returned home with regards to my food poisoning. They also said it must have been something to do with climate change and travelling. We have been going to the Caribbean and long haul travel for quite a few years now and have never felt like this before. Virgin offered us 3 night free to stay at the Pineapple Beach. My husband e-mailed back to say why would we stay somewhere that has given you food poisoning. We had to e-mail the Dr Beezers diagnosis report to prove this. They have since sent us a voucher. Sorry for a lengthy review but I think people need to know the truth. There are a lot better places in the Caribbean than this. Read less

Check availability

What would you like to search?

Where and When?

Who's going?

Room 1

Children (2 - 17)

Please enter child ages on date of departure:

» Please enter all child ages below
Check Availability

Who's Going?

To book online, please select a maximum of 9 passengers. For bigger groups please call 0844 573 8345.
» Please click 'ages' to enter child ages
» There must be 1 adult per infant travelling, please adjust your passenger numbers.
Room 1
Room 1

Children (2 - 17)

Please enter child ages on date of departure:

» Please enter all child ages below
Room 2
Room 2

Children (2 - 17)

Please enter child ages on date of departure:

» Please enter all child ages below
Room 3
Room 3

Children (2 - 17)

Please enter child ages on date of departure:

» Please enter all child ages below
Room 4
Room 4

Children (2 - 17)

Please enter child ages on date of departure:

» Please enter all child ages below
Check Availability

We require the ages of any children in your party to provide you with an accurate price. Each hotel defines child ages differently and teen prices may be available in some destinations.

Please enter child ages at time of travel:


W3