Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West

Midtown, New York

The hotel

Great as a base, the Holiday Inn Express Midtown West is perfectly placed in Hell’s Kitchen, with the theatre district right on your doorstep. Grab a free breakfast every morning, and be set for a day of exploring the urban jungle. You can use the fitness centre any time of day (or night), and there’s open-all-hours bars and restaurants just steps away from your front door. After all, this is the city that never sleeps.

Amenities

  • Fitness Centre/Gym
  • Internet Access
  • Close to City Centre

Where is it

Located in Manhattan's Hell's Kitchen area, with broadway steps from from the hotel. A short walk to Hudson Yards and Times Square. Transfer time from John F. Kennedy International Airport: 1 hour.

Hotel information

117 rooms. All with air-conditioning, HDTV, coffee maker, telephone, radio, complimentary bottled water, safe and iron and board. Standard Rooms have 1 king-size bed or 2 queen-size beds, sleeping maximum 4 adults or 2 adults and 2 children.

Complimentary breakfast bar and coffee in lobby. 24-hour fitness centre. Complimentary WiFi.

* Denotes local charge.

Rating summary

  • Location Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Sleep Quality Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Rooms Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Service Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Value Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Cleanliness Image of the Tripadvisor rating

Traveller rating

  • Excellent (430)
  • Very good (621)
  • Average (198)
  • Poor (60)
  • Terrible (42)
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Felt Like I Was Treated Like Dirt

May 8, 2020 Steve Y Silver Spring, Maryland

I stayed here sometime ago for 1 night while in NYC. I was an IHG Elite Gold Member at the time. Room was ok - clean and comfortable. Maybe smaller than the average Holiday Inn Express room. Other than that everything was ok. However what I experienced the morning of check-out was quite disrespectful. I had checked out and was waiting on my… Read more
I stayed here sometime ago for 1 night while in NYC. I was an IHG Elite Gold Member at the time. Room was ok - clean and comfortable. Maybe smaller than the average Holiday Inn Express room. Other than that everything was ok. However what I experienced the morning of check-out was quite disrespectful. I had checked out and was waiting on my pick-up - and this was 15 minutes before the start of breakfast. Most of the breakfast items were already on display. I approached the counter to get a banana and coffee and was rebuked by a member of staff. It's like she made a real big deal and told me not to take any of the items and wait. I tried to explain but she was adamant and spoke little English - mostly Spanish. Really, I just wonder what is happening with New York hotels? Are they losing their hospitality? Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Overcharged by $200. No response from hotel for refund

Mar 15, 2020 Leanna C London, United Kingdom

I booked this hotel and paid in full before arrival through booking.com I arrived at the hotel on Sunday 16th February. Upon arrival I was told my booking was incomplete and that I needed to pay an extra $100 I said I had a receipt for the price that I paid and asked the man at the desk if he would like to see it. He said ‘no it’s fine I will… Read more
I booked this hotel and paid in full before arrival through booking.com I arrived at the hotel on Sunday 16th February. Upon arrival I was told my booking was incomplete and that I needed to pay an extra $100 I said I had a receipt for the price that I paid and asked the man at the desk if he would like to see it. He said ‘no it’s fine I will sort it.’ He then asked me to pay a $50 hold fee once I finished the transaction he said my card was declined. He took my card again not sure what he did with it but he said everything was fine and gave me my room key. Once in my room he phoned to tell me the transaction went through twice I checked my account and could see the transaction had actually gone through 3 times charging me $150 this came up as pending. He said he would not be able to refund it himself but to ask a manager the next day. The next day a lady at the front desk reversed a $50 charge which came off immediately but the $100 came out as a full charge and was no longer pending like a hold fee should. On the 3rd day of my stay I explained the charge was now complete and had not been removed. A lady at the desk kindly attempted to refund it manually however she refunded it to the wrong card charging me another $100. I tried to explain that I now had a $200 charge on my card but staff seemed to refuse to believe me. Or brushed it off and said all charges had been reversed. This became very frustrating as I trusted they knew what they were doing but clearly not. I only stayed at the hotel for 5 days and felt I was constantly chasing them up for money taken off my card for no reason. Once arriving back home in the UK I made contact with the hotel and they explained that they could refund $100 and the other $100 should come off after 7 business days of checking out. I waited for this time but it didn’t not come off. I again made contact with the hotel but was just met with a lazy response of ‘I will make sure it reversed’ I then asked how long this would take as I could not afford to pay off $100 on my card that I was not supposed to. Eventually this hotel stopped replying to my emails. I then made contact with booking.com who have now refunded this money for me but I am unsure why Holiday inn has not replied to my emails at least to explain why they couldn’t refund it themselves. This whole experience ruined my trip to New York. Such poor customer service that has really stressed me out as this is a lot of money to have to pay off when I was not supposed to. After all of this I have not even received an apology. I would not recommend this hotel. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Beware - Ended up out of pocket due to an error made by the hotel

Mar 9, 2020 cwkb27 Villepinte, France

My wife had a pre-paid room at the hotel, as she had booked it via a travel agent in the UK. Even though my wife was not presented with an invoice upon check-out, we were subsequently charged for the room, which had already been paid for in advance. The hotel did refund us but, due to the foreign currency transaction fees charged by the bank, we… Read more
My wife had a pre-paid room at the hotel, as she had booked it via a travel agent in the UK. Even though my wife was not presented with an invoice upon check-out, we were subsequently charged for the room, which had already been paid for in advance. The hotel did refund us but, due to the foreign currency transaction fees charged by the bank, we ended up around $50 short. We have highlighted this to the hotel several times over the past month, and the issue has not even been acknowledged or resolved. We really don't see why we should lose out financially due to an error made by their staff. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating You get what you pay for

Feb 26, 2020 JonHenry76 Swansea, United Kingdom

Great hotel as a base for your stay as everything is within a 30 minute walk from this hotel. We had 2 adults and 2 children and found the rooms a bit small but nothing to stop booking, Only issue I could find with this hotel is it is sold as including breakfast, however they fail to mention that there are only about 15 tables in the area to sit… Read more
Great hotel as a base for your stay as everything is within a 30 minute walk from this hotel. We had 2 adults and 2 children and found the rooms a bit small but nothing to stop booking, Only issue I could find with this hotel is it is sold as including breakfast, however they fail to mention that there are only about 15 tables in the area to sit at and there are over 5 floors to this hotel so being able to get a table is slim and most people put food on a plate and went back to the rooms. But the hotel is still handy and you can grab some food and coffee to walk with Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Not a welcome feeling at all

Feb 23, 2020 Gioia221 Amsterdam, The Netherlands

The check-in and the attention of the staff was really lacking. I came to new York to celebrate my birthday (I told them that as well). The check-in was terrible. The check-in I had with the Indian receptionist was terrible. He didn't say anything when I came at the desk, he only said passport. He didn't say anything about me celebrating my… Read more
The check-in and the attention of the staff was really lacking. I came to new York to celebrate my birthday (I told them that as well). The check-in was terrible. The check-in I had with the Indian receptionist was terrible. He didn't say anything when I came at the desk, he only said passport. He didn't say anything about me celebrating my birthday or anything for that matter. He gave me the key and that was it. Didn't explain anything about the hotel, I had to ask the questions. Also on my birthday nothing was done. No card or anything special. Just disappointing and if I knew they would've be like this I would've gone somewhere else. Read less