Humphreys Half Moon Inn

San Diego, USA

The hotel

Watch turtles swimming in ponds, ducks wandering around and palms swaying in the breeze at this fantastic award-winning hotel. Millionaires' yachts come and go from the private marina next door and amidst the leafiness you'll find great sports facilities for exploring the locale. The summer concert series (May-Oct) attracts talent from all arenas including music and comedy.

Amenities

  • Bar
  • Spa
  • Swimming Pool
  • Families
  • Safety Deposit Box
  • Fitness Centre/Gym
  • Laundry Service
  • Internet Access
  • Close to City Centre
  • Bicycle Rental
  • Restaurant

Where is it

Located on Shelter Island.

Hotel information

182 rooms in 13 buildings on 2 floors with no lifts. All with air-conditioning, TV with cable, coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave and safe. All rooms are non-smoking. Standard Rooms with 1 king-size bed or 2 queen-size beds sleeping maximum 5 adults with a rollaway bed (rollaway bed subject to availability upon request with addition charge payable locally, approx $10 per night subject to change)*.

Junior Suites, sleeping maximum 4 adults.

View Suites, sleeping maximum 6 adults.

Humphreys Restaurant (global cuisine, Sunday Champagne Brunch, waterfront setting). Pool bar. Lounge bar with nightly entertainment. Room service*. Swimming pool. Massage therapy room*. Summer concerts (Apr-Oct). Table tennis. Putting green. Exercise room. Bike rentals*. Laundry facilities*. Complimentary weekday newspaper. High-speed Internet access*. Parking from $14 plus tax per day (payable locally, subject to change).

*Denotes local charge.

Rating summary

  • Location Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Sleep Quality Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Rooms Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Service Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Value Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Cleanliness Image of the Tripadvisor rating

Traveller rating

  • Excellent (953)
  • Very good (631)
  • Average (224)
  • Poor (112)
  • Terrible (75)
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Rude Manager, Very Unclear COVID policies - BUYER BEWARE!

Jul 7, 2020 sandiegogirl19 San Diego, California

First the positives: - The hotel is pretty and clean. Koi ponds (with trash in them left there for days), views of the marina, parrots, ducks... adorable. - Somewhat good Covid policies Now the negatives: - Because of Covid, the pool is only allowed to be at 1/2 capacity. You need a wristband to go in and once it's full, you have to wait for… Read more
First the positives: - The hotel is pretty and clean. Koi ponds (with trash in them left there for days), views of the marina, parrots, ducks... adorable. - Somewhat good Covid policies Now the negatives: - Because of Covid, the pool is only allowed to be at 1/2 capacity. You need a wristband to go in and once it's full, you have to wait for people to leave before you can go in. While obviously this is a GOOD policy overall, it was very inconsistent. People without wristbands would come in and take chairs - sometimes they'd get kicked out, other times not. Masks were required when not in the pool but the enforcement was spotty. We didn't feel particularly safe. But mostly it was just unpleasant to not be able to come and go from the pool. My husband and I took turns going into the pool with our toddler bc it was like a MadMax death match for the chairs. At one point we left our stuff to get lunch (as we'd seen lots of other people do) and some people just stole our stuff and took our spot. We told the manager of the hotel and her response was "we don't recommend leaving things at the pool" - ok, fine, but that's a terrible response from the manager who just found out about a theft on the property. We were able to find the people on our own and get most of our stuff back but my 3 year old literally had to jump in to get her own floaty back from them because they were super drunk and shoved it into the middle of the pool so we couldn't get it from the side. Security was there and did nothing. - The bars were closed (good), so LOTS of people were sneaking in LOTS of alcohol. Middle-aged people were out in the parking lot mixing up booze to sneak into the pool area. People were HAMMERED. It was totally unsuitable for families and also unsafe with COVID to have drunk people slobbering all over everyone. We were definitely uncomfortable and though security guards were there, they weren't enforcing social distancing. - There's no housekeeping. They'll bring you extra linens or towels but you have to clean yourself. Of course I understand WHY -- they don't want the staff entering the room after it has been sanitized. Unfortunately we didn't learn this until after we needed something at the hotel. Frankly, I don't want to pay hundreds of dollars a night to do my own sheets. That's sort of the fun of staying at a hotel. Had we known about all these restrictions I don't think we would have booked this hotel. I brought this up with the manager -- the access to the pool and the lack of housekeeping being my primary complaints -- and she told me everything was on the website. No apology -- just "you should have known" attitude. I told her we booked through a 3rd party and she said "that's too bad". When I started getting irritated with her for her "why is this my problem" responses, she LITERALLY SAID "It sounds like you're upset with issues in your life" (I AM in fact dealing with a family member fighting aggressive cancer DURING a global pandemic so maybe I AM a little frickin' testy, front desk lady!!). Anyway, it was a frustrating conversation not worth having with someone like that so I dropped it. But if she worked for either of my companies, she would be fired immediately. I'm trying to get some money back from the company we booked through but it'll probably be a losing battle. Just a very disappointing waste of money. Final takeaway is BUYER BEWARE at this hotel. Be sure to research their policies prior to booking because they do not take responsibility for communicating their policies to the guests. And if you do have a problem with the policies when you discover them, it is not their problem and you will not receive a discount or even an "I'm sorry". BUT, the hotel is pretty and my daughter liked it. So as long as you have very very very low expectations and are ok paying $300+/night to have ZERO service, then you'll be fine. Oh, and the coffee in the room was AWFUL. Just AWFUL. Bring your own or plan to go out. If you're a coffee addict like me, you will be so so sad. You have to go to the restaurant for coffee -- it doesn't open until 7am and they charge $4 (after tax) for standard drip coffee. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Lush, tropical gardens

Jun 29, 2020 katieblue1112 Lancaster, California

Staying at Humphrey's is a taste of paradise! Beautiful gardens and rooms, lovely staff, gorgeous location! I love this place and count it a pleasure staying here. The staff is very accomodating and caring and it's also fun to walk on the marina boardwalk.
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Such a cool place!

Jun 24, 2020 Cdmduke Laguna Beach, California

Was here for a short stay and very impressed. Staff was so friendly and accommodating. And following all of the COVID guidelines. The outdoor concert area is now a breakfast and lunch spot. We had 2 one bedroom suites that were like little apartments. We normally stay in a newer high rise hotel in the Gaslamp, but this place is wonderful. Just… Read more
Was here for a short stay and very impressed. Staff was so friendly and accommodating. And following all of the COVID guidelines. The outdoor concert area is now a breakfast and lunch spot. We had 2 one bedroom suites that were like little apartments. We normally stay in a newer high rise hotel in the Gaslamp, but this place is wonderful. Just don't expect high-end luxury. The rooms are well-appointed and clean, with everything you need. Shout out to Darlene, who washed and loan me a coffee cup at 4a.m.! Will be back next month guys. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating A Time for Relaxation

Jun 24, 2020 Kelvin W Pomona, California

We try to stay at this property every time we come to San Diego. We love this place!!!! The hotel is off the beaten path of downtown and Mission Beach, yet still close to everything. The property is very peaceful and being on the edge of the peninsula makes its location ideal. We stayed for a week in the Grand Marina Suite, which gave us plenty… Read more
We try to stay at this property every time we come to San Diego. We love this place!!!! The hotel is off the beaten path of downtown and Mission Beach, yet still close to everything. The property is very peaceful and being on the edge of the peninsula makes its location ideal. We stayed for a week in the Grand Marina Suite, which gave us plenty of space for our family of 4. We enjoyed the facilities at the hotel daily and the staff was always very helpful and happy. If there is a downfall to the hotel, it is the "extra" price for parking, because for our family, once we were at the hotel, there was really no other place that we needed to drive to. We walked everywhere and kept this stay very local. Nice pool, nice food, nice drinks, and relaxing. During this time of uncertainty due to the pandemic, this getaway was well worth it. We were able to get away from the madness and smile a little. I only wish that we could have stayed another week!!!! Every morning, we took a walk along the peninsula to return to warm coffee and hot chocolate overlooking the marina. Amazing views Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Paradise found- We love it here!!!!

Mar 30, 2020 shansar Seattle, Washington

We had a great time. Check in was smooth. We loved the location and really enjoyed our time here. I wish that they didn't charge for parking. Rooms were clean and pool was sure nice. There are a lot of nearby restaurants and stores to check out that are nearby. They've added fire pits as a great addition.