Fifty Hotel and Suites by Affinia

Midtown, New York

The hotel

Relax in the large Club Room and Den at this boutique hotel before experiencing the vibe of a superb location in Midtown Manhattan, a contemporary neighbourhood filled with rich traditions, two blocks from The Rockefeller Center, Times Square, The Theatre District, Fifth and Madison Avenues Shopping, popular eateries and Manhattan’s most famous landmarks. They’ve splashed $19 million on a refurb getting ready for your stay, with otherwise seductively sedate Studios and Suites featuring full kitchens. The arty vibe continues throughout the hotel, a collection of paintings, sculptures, photos and eclectic treasures by local New York artists. Downstairs, you’ll find guests hanging out in The Club Room enjoying Continental breakfast which is available for purchase and hotel guests are invited to the complimentary daily Wine Hour from 5:00 – 6:00 pm.

Amenities

  • Room Service
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness Centre/Gym
  • Laundry Service
  • Internet Access
  • Close to City Centre
  • Bicycle Rental

Where is it

In Midtown East, as handy for its sightseeing as it is for its business connections, the hotel is steps from restaurants and wine bars, and just a few blocks from Fifth Avenue’s St Patrick’s Cathedral. Transfer time from John F. Kennedy International Airport: 30 minutes.

Hotel information

251 rooms and suites. All with flatscreen HDTV, iHome docking station, MP3 player, WiFi access*, mini-fridge, coffee maker, safe, hairdryer, iron and board, and pillow menu. Standard Rooms are approx 325-400 sq ft with 1 king-size bed or 2 queen-size beds, sleeping maximum 4 adults.

Studio Suites are 433 sq ft and have a kitchenette with hob, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and toaster with 1 king-size bed or 2 queen-size beds, sleeping maximum 4 adults.

Junior Suites are larger at 507 sq ft with a separate living area with sleeper sofa, kitchenette with hob, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and toaster with 1 king-size bed or 2 queen-size beds, sleeping maximum 5 adults.

The Club Room and Den (lounge area with Continental Club Breakfast* 7:00am-10:30pm, fireplace, TVs, coffee and tea station). Lobby Lounge with iMac computers. The Cupboard* (snacks and souvenirs, in lobby). Room service*. Social Sips (nightly wine hour in The Club Room’s Den, 5:00-6:00pm, over 21's). Gourmet cold-pressed juices*. Grocery delivery service*. Picnic Kits*. 24-hour gym. Affinia Junior (with pop-up child-friendly ‘Social Sips’, child sundries at The Cupboard*, ‘family fun chests’ with board games, sports packs with goodies*, and equipment including strollers). Affinia Pocket Guide. Concierge. Laundry facilities*. Complimentary WiFi in lobby and The Club Room. Valet parking $65 plus tax per day, or $75 plus tax per day for oversized vehicles (payable locally; subject to change).

One person must be aged 19 years and over in each room at check-in.

*Denotes local charge.

Rating summary

  • Location Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Sleep Quality Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Rooms Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Service Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Value Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Cleanliness Image of the Tripadvisor rating

Traveller rating

  • Excellent (1155)
  • Very good (733)
  • Average (250)
  • Poor (83)
  • Terrible (73)
Image of the Tripadvisor rating great

Jun 26, 2020 230ilanm

I had an amazing time there. I stayed for the weekend and the service was incredible. no issues with either my room or the service. I needed some extra stuff and i asked and got it in my room 5 minutes later. You should go if you want to be close to everything.
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Same poor response from Manager to honest reviews

Jun 21, 2020 Jane S North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom

This hotel is shocking and especially if you book via a website and not direct. Make sure you have the paper work that you have paid in hard copy as they may take the payment again like they did with us AFTER we had checked out, thankfully we had paid with credit card and we had to get the bank involved. and we did get a refund. They take your… Read more
This hotel is shocking and especially if you book via a website and not direct. Make sure you have the paper work that you have paid in hard copy as they may take the payment again like they did with us AFTER we had checked out, thankfully we had paid with credit card and we had to get the bank involved. and we did get a refund. They take your card details at check in so they are on file so beware! Rude staff, dirty rooms too and that’s honest not just slating them due to them taking unauthorised money. I also believe they prefer US visitors. I emailed the manager and never got a response either. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating FIFTY Hotel NYC

Jun 17, 2020 727triciaw County Cork, Ireland

Great rooms,great hotel....the staff is just delightful to deal with. Amidst the COVID crisis, they continue to work diligently to accommodate travelers. They always made me feel like a home away from home while there. The front desk staff and doormen are absolutely the best!
Image of the Tripadvisor rating AH

Jun 17, 2020 Jet635291

Absolutely the worst experience in my life. The checkin was pleasant and staff helpful but the night shift was a nightmare rude and unprofessional. Weed smell in the hallways (rooms are none Smoking) but they want to make an issue of my parked car on the street not hotel property at midnight. Midnight want to start banging on my door continued… Read more
Absolutely the worst experience in my life. The checkin was pleasant and staff helpful but the night shift was a nightmare rude and unprofessional. Weed smell in the hallways (rooms are none Smoking) but they want to make an issue of my parked car on the street not hotel property at midnight. Midnight want to start banging on my door continued after I answered it already and I was getting dressed bc who moves a car in their underwater. Just super rude and professional. If you do t want your guests parking on front of your hotel maybe give them resources with alternatives when they check in not bang on the door at midnight and yell like the place is on fire and scold me like some child. Also it’s pandemic so put a mask on. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating FIFTY NYC review

Jun 9, 2020 VickNY

Clean room, decent price. Doorman (Sammy) was great! Extremely helpful and a generally pleasant man. We were highly impressed. Nice part of Manhattan . Hotel staff did their best during Covid time. They saw that valet parking was taken care of as promised.