The Modern Honolulu

Honolulu, Oahu

The hotel

Where innovative design meets barefoot luxury, the The Modern Honolulu's understated elegance and service has earned acclaim for service and design. It's posh without being pretentious, chic without being overdone, luxurious, yet brilliantly laid back. Guest rooms are decorated in natural tones and rich woods, with spa-like bathrooms and full-sized windows overlooking the city, the yacht harbour and the Pacific Ocean. Amenities are world-class and include a full-service spa with a variety of tempting treatments and two gorgeous swimming pools — the Sunrise Pool surrounded by lush, green landscape and the adults-only Sunset Pool, elevated on the first level and surrounded by sand. Hidden behind a secret passage, as if tucked away in a castle, is the lobby bar offering signature cocktails and light, eclectic fare. Lunch can also be enjoyed at the Bar at Sunrise Pool, under a canopy of lush bougainvillea and hanging lanterns. There’s a bar down at the beach too, residing under tall graceful palms with lounge chairs set in the water — a wonderful place to kick back and relax.

Amenities

  • Bar
  • Spa
  • Swimming Pool
  • Night Club
  • Valet parking
  • Safety Deposit Box
  • Fitness Centre/Gym
  • Yoga
  • Laundry Service
  • Internet Access
  • Close to Beach
  • Close to City Centre

Where is it

Within walking distance of Waikiki Beach and shopping at the Ala Moana Centre and Kalakaua Avenue.

Hotel information

353 rooms on 18 floors. All with air-conditioning, some with terraces, 46" LCD TV with pay-per-view films, telephones, WiFi, bottled water, daily newspaper, coffee maker, mini-bar*, safe and hairdryer. Microwaves, fridges, kettles and irons/ironing boards on request. City Scape Rooms feature views of the mountains and Waikiki skyline with either 1 king-size bed (offering a terrace) or 2 double beds, sleeping maximum 3 adults.

City View Rooms offer views of Waikiki and the resort grounds with 1 king-size bed (offering a terrace) or 2 double beds, sleeping maximum 3 adults.

Partial Ocean View Rooms offer views of the ocean and urban landscape of Waikiki, with 1 king-size bed (offering a terrace) or 2 double beds, sleeping maximum 3 adults.

Ocean View King Rooms feature angled views of the ocean and marina from the private terrace, with 1 king-size bed, sleeping maximum 2 adults.

The Grove Restaurant and Bar (open for breakfast, lunch and dinner). The Study lobby bar (live music), The Bar at Sunrise Pool, Players Club bar at Sunset Beach. Addiction Nightclub (open Thu, Fri, Sat). 2 swimming pools. Spa*. Fitness centre. Yoga (at the Sunset Pool). Outside movie screening. Laundry/dry-cleaning service*. WiFi access (included in resort fee). Valet parking $35 plus tax per night (payable locally, subject to change).

This hotel has a resort fee of $35-$45 plus tax per room, per day (payable locally, subject to change)

Resort fee includes: - Welcome drink - Cold towel service – WiFi access – Yoga classes (select days) – Admission to Addiction nightclub – Access to business centre. Resort fee, tax and inclusions are subject to change - please see hotel check-in for current inclusions available to you upon arrival.

2 nights.

*Denotes local charge.

Please note: the minimum age for check-in is 21 years.

Please note: an incidental deposit of $100 must be paid on arrival (by major credit card or debit card, fee subject to change). For stays from 1 Jan '20 rooms will be cleaned once every 7 days (daily maid service may be available for an additional fee).

Rating summary

  • Location Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Sleep Quality Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Rooms Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Service Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Value Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Cleanliness Image of the Tripadvisor rating

Traveller rating

  • Excellent (3204)
  • Very good (1023)
  • Average (328)
  • Poor (136)
  • Terrible (122)
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Overpriced and disappointing

Jul 26, 2021 275emilyg

This is the first review I’ve ever written on Trip Advisor, which should give some indication of our stay. First things first, the lobby is a cacophony of sound, designed to disorient and make you leave as quickly as possible. It was hard to hear the receptionist when we checked in. The elevators were clearly old and in need of paint. The buttons… Read more
This is the first review I’ve ever written on Trip Advisor, which should give some indication of our stay. First things first, the lobby is a cacophony of sound, designed to disorient and make you leave as quickly as possible. It was hard to hear the receptionist when we checked in. The elevators were clearly old and in need of paint. The buttons were grimy. The “study” does not exist. The hallways are so dark it’s eerie. Our room was fine except…the bathroom literally has shutters into the main room, so there is essentially no barrier between the person using it and the other people in the room. My partner and I laughed this off, but it’s weird. Privacy when taking a dump is kind of the bare minimum. The pool was nice, if not a bit rundown (stains on the lounge chair padding). The adult pool was basically a kiddy pool. At its deepest it’s 8 inches, although you’d never know that from the creative photoshopped images in the brochure. The bar up there was never open during our stay. On the third morning, we were woken up at 7 AM by a group of laid off hotel workers protesting on the pool deck. They were demanding their jobs back after daily room cleans had been cut during Covid. Apparently other hotels have hired their employees back, but not the The Modern. They made three appearances that day on the pool deck with blow horns and chants, an hour each time. The Modern did not acknowledge this at all. Guests were apparently meant to just ignore it and pretend that everything was fine and dandy. Hey Modern! It was not. Hire your workers back! The lack of daily cleaning was apparent. If you wanted a room refresh, you could leave your sheets, towel, and trash in the hallway and call for replacements. Room service of any kind was on permanent hiatus. I get it. Covid is real and scary, but the total lack of service here is a bit weird, especially when other hotels have apparently brought it back in some capacity. Implementing a policy of guests being out of the room, or a once-a-week refresh seems reasonable. Right now it comes off like cutting cost, especially given the protests on the pool deck. Finally, the restaurant. I only ate here once for breakfast out on the patio. I spent $18 on very subpar eggs Benedict and $4 on drip coffee that was served to me on a plastic plate with plastic silverware. Is this because of Covid as well? Is there some reason why in-restaurant dining necessitates plastic utensils? For $24 I expected better. In conclusion, take your vacation to another hotel. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Disgusted

Jul 12, 2021 Readingrae New Bedford, Massachusetts

I would first say we were very excited this was to be our first trip to The Modern as owners. When we bought into this group back in 2019 what we were shown was absolutely gorgeous. When we checked in on July 9th what we got was filth. The floors were so dirty you could see the dirt and stains clearly and the feel on your feet was😖. The bed frame… Read more
I would first say we were very excited this was to be our first trip to The Modern as owners. When we bought into this group back in 2019 what we were shown was absolutely gorgeous. When we checked in on July 9th what we got was filth. The floors were so dirty you could see the dirt and stains clearly and the feel on your feet was😖. The bed frame was all marked up and dirty. There were black marks across the wall near the headboard. The bathroom shower was dingy and looked like it had not been cleaned in quite some time. The bathroom mirror looked about two decades old with the back coming off. The chairs on the balcony were rusted and as for lighting good luck finding out what controls what. It took a few minutes of turning this on and that off to get the light to work. The halls are so dark you can’t see anything too clearly. Suffice it to say we checked out the next day and spent an additional $3000.00 to stay at another hotel that was most importantly clean. We paid $15,000.00 to become members and as members feel like we should get better then we received. I did not complain we just checked out because at the end of the day I did not fly for 11 hours to argue. Only realized today I should have taken photos at the time I just wanted out. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Awful Experience

Jul 12, 2021 JohnJ6262

This is one of the worst places to stay on Waikiki. The room is as basic as a roadside hotel. Their breakfast options are oversized and full of butter. The pool cushions are nearly destroyed and look nothing like the pictures. We complained about noise from the neighbors two nights in a row which eventually lead to the police going to our room… Read more
This is one of the worst places to stay on Waikiki. The room is as basic as a roadside hotel. Their breakfast options are oversized and full of butter. The pool cushions are nearly destroyed and look nothing like the pictures. We complained about noise from the neighbors two nights in a row which eventually lead to the police going to our room (the wrong room) , waking us up in the middle of the night which showed the lack of care and coordination on the part of the hotel. We did not sleep two of the four nights due to the noise issue but the hotel’s reply was “let us know if it keeps happening” and refused to change our room. What type of Hawaiian vacation is this? It’s not one. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating The people make the place (and the swank pool deck too)

Jul 6, 2021 ForrestWright San Diego, CA

Just spent 7 nights at The Modern in Honolulu and we all loved it. Not just because our rooms had rad marina and ocean views, or because we love the all-deck lower pool with the autograph trees creating shade. It's because of the people that work there. Despite this being our first (and not last) visit, we were treated like old friends. From… Read more
Just spent 7 nights at The Modern in Honolulu and we all loved it. Not just because our rooms had rad marina and ocean views, or because we love the all-deck lower pool with the autograph trees creating shade. It's because of the people that work there. Despite this being our first (and not last) visit, we were treated like old friends. From Jacob at the front desk to Michaelina poolside to Ray at the restaurant and bar, everyone was super accommodating and friendly. The absolute trip-maker was Maurice who went out of his way to hook us up with everything from a lei for my mother-in-law's bday to impossible-to-get dinner rezos. Honestly, he was like a GM, a concierge and a local friend all rolled into one. Now, down to specifics. If you can afford it, go for the rooms at the end of the hotel that end in -10 an -11. Awesomeness. Two balconies. Lots of living space. Crazy good views. This property is owned by Diamond Resorts and hopefully they are updating their Covid policies to reflect newer realities so the housekeepers and other staff can get back to more normal and things can get tidier. The strain of Covid shows in some places. The rooms are still cool and modern but need some refreshing. Some updates to carpet, paint and a few fixtures and they'd be good to go. The proximity to Waikiki's frenzy but not right on (just a block away) is perfect. You get all the fun without all the crazy. The pool scene is terrific. Love that you have your choice of two but never left the bottom one. And, of course, ask the locals there what they recommend. They can steer you to some cool places that you're not always going to find on your own, especially when it comes to food. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Disappointed :(

Jun 22, 2021 norikot888

My husband and I are currently at the Modern in Honolulu. We stayed here pre-COVID (about 2.5 years ago) and thoroughly enjoyed it so we thought we would just come back. I don't know if it's because of Covid or new management but, boy, has the place gone downhill. The rooms are dirty/dingy. Carpets are disgusting and stains on nightstands… Read more
My husband and I are currently at the Modern in Honolulu. We stayed here pre-COVID (about 2.5 years ago) and thoroughly enjoyed it so we thought we would just come back. I don't know if it's because of Covid or new management but, boy, has the place gone downhill. The rooms are dirty/dingy. Carpets are disgusting and stains on nightstands and lamp shades. When you check-in, a certain number of coffee pods come with the room but they won't bring you anymore! You have to BUY THEM in the coffee shop! The lobby is just blah with elevators barely running. The gym is open but there are no towels or water! I could go on but I feel like my grumbles above are just wanting the bare minimum. I know I will not be coming back here again. Read less