Red Lion Lake Buena Vista South/East Kissimmee

Kissimmee, Orlando

The hotel

A sparkling new addition to the Kissimmee holiday scene, this Sunshine State hotel’s set to open in 2018 with everything you need for a theme park holiday (plus some rather fun perks thrown in on top). Located just three miles from the gates of Walt Disney World®, this brand new hotel features beautifully appointed rooms. Enjoy complimentary coffee from the café before you set off for the theme parks. When you return, you can soothe those ride-ravaged muscles with a soak in the heated outdoor pool and a float in its ultra-relaxing lazy river, or a stretch in the fitness room’s yoga zone, before tucking into homemade tortillas and fiery guacamole at its Mexican restaurant.

Amenities

  • Bar
  • Swimming Pool
  • Theme Parks
  • Close to Walt Disney World Resort
  • Fitness Centre/Gym
  • Internet Access
  • Restaurant

Where is it

Just 3 miles from the gates of Walt Disney World Resort® and 20 minutes drive from all of the fun of Universal Orlando Resort™ and other theme parks and family attractions. Driving time from airport: 20 minutes.

Hotel information

410 newly renovated rooms. All with flat screen TV with HBO and cable channels, clock radio with MP3 player, iPod docking station, mini-fridge, safe, iron and board. Standard Rooms have 1 king-size bed or 2 queen-size beds, sleeping maximum 4 adults or 2 adults and 2 children.

Complimentary self-parking. Complimentary Walt Disney World Resort® shuttle service.

Mexican restaurant. Poolside sports bar (seasonal).

Outdoor heated pool with lazy river. Fitness center.

Complimentary coffee from the café (7:00am–11:00am). Complimentary WiFi. Gift shop.

*Denotes local charge. 

Rating summary

  • Location Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Sleep Quality Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Rooms Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Service Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Value Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Cleanliness Image of the Tripadvisor rating

Traveller rating

  • Excellent (63)
  • Very good (25)
  • Average (12)
  • Poor (7)
  • Terrible (13)
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Nice Facility Needs Improvements

Aug 3, 2021 Gunny214 Chattanooga, Tennessee

OK,,,,,,, so the Red Lion Hotel is a very nice facility. Our room was very clean and maintained. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and well equipped, TV was a 50" flat-screen with great picture and clean reception with good selection of channels. Also, the room was very large. Breakfast was served in a buffet style and was very good. The… Read more
OK,,,,,,, so the Red Lion Hotel is a very nice facility. Our room was very clean and maintained. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and well equipped, TV was a 50" flat-screen with great picture and clean reception with good selection of channels. Also, the room was very large. Breakfast was served in a buffet style and was very good. The cost was $11.00 each, which isn't bad considering it's all you can eat. There is a very nice variety store on the first floor with most anything you might need from select toiletries and sundry items to souvenirs, drinks, and fresh pastries. The pool area speaks for itself. The pool size is ample and clean with an attached area containing a water slide and lazy river with life guards. So why the average rating ??? 1) Upon check-in, at 4:00 PM, there were only two check-in agents at the desk with a line out the door waiting to get their rooms. 2) We stayed for two nights and upon entering the hallway from our room or getting off the elevator, the stench of marijuana was gagging and constant among other strange burning odors. 3) Children in herds were allowed to run up and down the hallway, playing and yelling until late with some adult behavior that wasn't any better. 4) The pool area needs more seating and the lifeguards need to enforce the pool rules as well as they do the Lazy River and slide. To end on a positive note, the staff in all areas of the hotel were extremely nice and accommodating and the location was very good. I would still recommend you give this place a try if visiting the area. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Very poorly ran hotel franchisee

Jul 26, 2021 gary m

I plan to one day get away with my kids the only reason why I paid so much for the hotel was because of the lazy river and a waterslide area. So the kids would be able to play there all day. Unfortunately an on for seen situation had happened to the hotel. The lazy river in waterside area was closed down for the day. I understand things like this… Read more
I plan to one day get away with my kids the only reason why I paid so much for the hotel was because of the lazy river and a waterslide area. So the kids would be able to play there all day. Unfortunately an on for seen situation had happened to the hotel. The lazy river in waterside area was closed down for the day. I understand things like this happen. But from this point on how the hotel handled it. Was very very poorly. I have tried to deal with the hotel management wouldn’t be of any help to me. Really wasn’t asking for a refund. I was kind of hoping they would give me a discount on a future stay. So I have emailed the district manager about nine times and get no response at all. I do believe their model is ignore ignore ignore and they’ll go away. I am sure they’re going to respond but I’m so sorry to hear that you had a problem at our hotel and we wish the next time you come and see us will try and do better. Again not trying to fix any issues. I have reached out to red lion regional office. I was informed that this is a franchise and privately owned and that you have to deal with them on complaints on the hotel. Again never getting any response back from district manager very very very poor Ran hotel. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Unsafe and disappointing

Jul 23, 2021 bellad397 Buffalo, New York

Management of this hotel was allowing locals to use their pool and the children were out of control jumping and splashing me in the face with no adult supervision or supervision from the hotel. The main pool area was not supervized but the Lazy River was.. so that was who I complained to and was told that management knew about it and didn't care.… Read more
Management of this hotel was allowing locals to use their pool and the children were out of control jumping and splashing me in the face with no adult supervision or supervision from the hotel. The main pool area was not supervized but the Lazy River was.. so that was who I complained to and was told that management knew about it and didn't care. They were more afraid to tell the black and brown Community using their pool no then they cared about their paying guests. Sometimes I didn't have a chair to use and sometimes that I couldn't use the Lazy River because it was full and always I felt unsafe. I had booked a hotel through hotels.com and was afraid if I left that they would still charge me for those days so I stuck it out and should not have endured that suffering because I came there for the sunshine in the pool and that was where the main problem was Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Major Theft

Jun 14, 2021 oneofakindwire

This is a WARNING to other travelers – We were at this hotel for a stay of several days, our room was pleasant and clean. The lazy river was only open from 2pm till 7pm, which was a disappointment, but we worked around it. The management failed to disclose that they were hosting a huge BMX bicycle convention over the weekend. The place was… Read more
This is a WARNING to other travelers – We were at this hotel for a stay of several days, our room was pleasant and clean. The lazy river was only open from 2pm till 7pm, which was a disappointment, but we worked around it. The management failed to disclose that they were hosting a huge BMX bicycle convention over the weekend. The place was packed with kids, riding bicycles in the halls till midnight and the pool area was insane. I had no idea that many children could fit in a hot tub. We simply avoided all public areas. The real problem began when we went out on Saturday morning to start our vehicle, which was parked approximately 30 ft from a main entrance with several security cameras. We had locked it and set the alarm, which did not prevent thieves from stealing the entire exhaust system – catalytic converter, O2 sensors, muffler and all. These are apparently quite lucrative to sell for scrap. Now we know why there was a perimeter fence with only one entrance to the hotel. Upon informing the front desk of the theft, they were neither surprised nor helpful. We had to work that day and took our vehicle to the dealership first, (repairs ended up costing $2630). Upon our return that evening, we asked the front desk to call the police to fill out a report. After some attitude from the staff about whether or not we had locked and alarmed our car (as if that would have helped!), the manager was finally called and we were told the police were on the way. 2 hours of waiting later, we called the precinct ourselves and they showed up in 10 minutes. The police asked the staff to see the security tapes and the excuse was given that it was the weekend and they were not available. We received NO concern, recompensation or apology from any of the staff, and no one from management has ever contacted us – this is apparently a regular occurrence. If you stay here, beware, do not expect the staff/management to disclose anything that might impact your stay or to care what happens to guests in any way. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating 55 minute check in set the tone

Jun 4, 2021 Mace54 Delano, Pennsylvania

After a 20 hr long day we ran into a 55 minute check in at 10:00 PM on a Friday night. On our walk up to the room on the 12th floor, the pungent smell of weed filled every hallway. But when we finally got to our room it was a relief. It was very clean and very nice. Only issue was that when my daughter peeled back her bed covers they were covered… Read more
After a 20 hr long day we ran into a 55 minute check in at 10:00 PM on a Friday night. On our walk up to the room on the 12th floor, the pungent smell of weed filled every hallway. But when we finally got to our room it was a relief. It was very clean and very nice. Only issue was that when my daughter peeled back her bed covers they were covered in a dried red substance which looked like a juice stain; not blood. The hotel was offering coffee, but you had to get there by 7:00 AM or it was gone. My daughter and wife went to the pool. I wanted no part of it. It was PACKED. The day they lifted the mask mandate it was a free for all. The pool was a bacteria soup. The price was right, but it seemed like alot of locals did a long weekend getaway there. It was pet-friendly so that was nice. All in all, not a bad place. Read less