Atelier Playa Mujeres

Cancun, Mexico

The hotel

All Inclusive. All-suite. All adults. This is the all-time luxury escape in Mexico. Seamlessly sweeping into the sands of Playa Mujeres, and the curacao-blue waters which wash it, this sparkling new hotel has upped the all-inclusive ante with its ATELIER Artist Service®, including extras like a pillow menu, daily restocked bar, pool concierge, and 24-hour room service. Showcasing the region’s art, culture, and natural beauty, it’s also been designed to provide the ultimate in indulgences, with semi-sunken sun loungers, four-poster daybeds, and a mix of Mexican and global gourmet menus in its complimentary dining venues (plus the exquisite creations of celebrity chef Edgar Nunez at María Dolores® if you fancy treating yourself).

Amenities

  • Bar
  • Spa
  • Swimming Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre/Gym
  • Internet Access
  • Beachfront location
  • Restaurant

Where is it

Located within the exclusive Playa Mujeres complex. Transfer time from Cancun Airport: 30 minutes.

Hotel information

431 suites, dressed with avant-garde style furniture and Total-Rest Beds®. All with air-conditioning, smart TV, stocked mini-bar with water, sodas, beer and juice (refilled daily) digital alarm clock and USB ports, safe, 1 king-size bed, or 2 queen-size beds, sleeping maximum 3 adults. Every suite has a large bath, double sinks, a rain style shower and bathrobes. Junior Suites enjoy views of the ocean or golf course. 

All Inclusive of: all meals at 7 different restaurants, Coffee corner, and all beverages, including top shelf brands, at 6 bars. Mini-bar with water, soft drinks, beers and juice, restocked daily. Complimentary WiFi. Non-motorised sports. Pool concierge. Use of the state-of-the-art gym. Art & Experience program which includes art tasting, the art of mixology, Caribbean rhythms and more. 24-hour room service.

Junior Suites Ocean View look out to the sea from a private balcony, have a generous working space and fine dining facilities.

Junior Suites Swim Out are spacious rooms that offer direct pool access to a semi-private swimming lane lane from a terrace. 

Rooftop Suites are also available, with a private rooftop terrace which features a plunge pool, shower, half bath and a pergola bed.

8 restaurants; Mercado 19 (Mexican buffet restaurant). El Suspiro (International buffet during breakfast. Seafood à la carte during the afternoon). Takeshi (Asian cuisine). Cilento (Italian cuisine). Los Abrazos (South American grill). Alba (healthy bar). El Trompo (snacks). María Dolores* (exclusive dining with celebrity chef Edgar Nunez; innovative Mexican cuisine). 7 bars including El Suspiro swim up bar, Don Fernando lobby bar, La Oficina, El Cielo sky bar and Bar de la Calle. Coffee shop. 24-room service.

Activity programme, happenings and events during the day and night.

1,360 sqm infinity pool. Spa*. Gym. Complimentary non-motorised water sports including including kayaks, snorkeling, stand-up paddle boards and beach tennis. Tennis and paddle ball courts. Motorised water sports*. Discounted green fees at 18-hole golf course designed by Greg Norman*. Art walk. Art & Design gallery*.

Complimentary WiFi in all rooms and common areas throughout the resort. Valet parking. Car rental*. Atelier-Estudio App that allows guests to check in remotely, pick their suite location, act as a digital key, E-chat with concierge and more

* Denotes local charge. 

Rating summary

  • Location Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Sleep Quality Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Rooms Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Service Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Value Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Cleanliness Image of the Tripadvisor rating

Traveller rating

  • Excellent (405)
  • Very good (69)
  • Average (39)
  • Poor (19)
  • Terrible (21)
Image of the Tripadvisor rating One of the best resorts in Mexico and absolutely the top one of Cancun!

Mar 24, 2020 Randy F Seattle, Washington

Atelier Playa Mujeres is one of the most excellent, premiere resorts my wife and I have visited in the last 10-years! The superior quality, treatment from the moment you enter the grounds, through the most amazing lobby and the heartfelt appreciation for being a guest upon arrival was amazing. The property, rooms, pool and beach are of the… Read more
Atelier Playa Mujeres is one of the most excellent, premiere resorts my wife and I have visited in the last 10-years! The superior quality, treatment from the moment you enter the grounds, through the most amazing lobby and the heartfelt appreciation for being a guest upon arrival was amazing. The property, rooms, pool and beach are of the utmost best in class for this type of resort. The location outside of Cancun, provides a sanctuary to relax, enjoy the best of the Mexican welcoming culture. Restaurants were superb: - Los Brazos for the perfectly cooked, seasoned filet - Cilento for perfected Italian – Omar took great care of us! - Mercado 19 for filling breakfast to start the day - Most amazing was Maria Delores for an 11-course tasting of exquisite interpretation of ingredients from across Mexico, with some of the best wines the country produces – a meal, experience to remember! Roger, our tasting guide – he was so passionate and knowledgeable of the ingredients, flavor and selected wines. In between the great amenities, pools and meals – we enjoyed the Nuup Spa on several occasions to truly relax with wonderful massages as well to end each day refreshed before dinner, with a body invigorating Hydrotherapy circuit. Exceptional guest satisfaction from Gabi, Veronica, Tere, Luis, Isaac and Armando. Due to a minor issue with an unforeseen problem with our Rooftop Suite, the Resort Management treated us to special access to the El Cielo Sky Bar as Inspira guests throughout our stay – to enjoy the stunning infinity edge pool view out to the sea, while sipping many a great selection of cocktails prepared by most experienced mixologists. This is one of the best resorts in Mexico and absolutely the top one of Cancun! Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Perfectly Posh Place on the Playa

Mar 24, 2020 AsTheCrowesFly Toronto, Canada

In no particular order of importance, I’d like to present some of the notable experiences and observations we encountered during our most enjoyable holiday back in Jan/Feb this year. Many are the minutiae of things that often get lost in the big picture. Many have related photos in the gallery. Firstly, I am not going to mention any of the… Read more
In no particular order of importance, I’d like to present some of the notable experiences and observations we encountered during our most enjoyable holiday back in Jan/Feb this year. Many are the minutiae of things that often get lost in the big picture. Many have related photos in the gallery. Firstly, I am not going to mention any of the staff by name, mostly for the reason that I really can’t remember all the ones I should and in the end, 97.5% of said staffers (both seen and unseen) deserve a shout-out. Kudos to you all for a job very well done and kudos to the APM management who seem to have hired and trained the right people for the job. Arrival was rather impressive, doors opened on our transfer van, luggage collected, escorted right to Reception, (this is certainly NOT a “check-in desk”) sat down with a cool drink and conducted our business with a certain air of serenity and decorum. Once embellished with our very posh wristbands (more on these later) we were escorted over to a quiet part of the lobby to be welcomed (again) by a chap who provided some resort information but yeah, he was working the Inspira Club timeshare angle. Once we informed him that seeing as we are of a “certain age” and a whole lot of the world yet to see, this trip to Mexico was probably our last one. He understood and we never again heard about the IC from anybody. Very respectful of our wishes. A “bellboy” was summoned who loaded the luggage onto a trolley and off we went to the room. Just a short walk being as in Room 2274. He explained well many of the numerous amenities of the resort and the room. This room is also directly adjacent to the elevators, the ice machine and the stairs out to the walkway to the main building or the pool making it very convenient. The Room. Just like in the photos, so will not waste space describing it. However, I had reached out to the resort in advance, both via the website (no reply) and the direct e-mail (which was on our Air Transat documents!) about a room location request with a reply from a Señor Julio Tadeo, Ejecutivo de Reservaciones, which was courteous but pretty much just typical hotel response boiler-plate. What we were advised upon arrival is that the rooms on the south side facing the pool are all considered “Ocean-view” as a distinct category with cost up-tick. Ours was a Jr. Suite on the north side facing the golf course which sometimes actually had a “nice view” when watching the duffers whacking away! However, we found that the second floor was a primo location, especially in the middle-ish part of the building as because the ground floor swim-up rooms were beneath us, our balcony was their overhang and double the size of the floors above. The physical design also provided a LOT of privacy the upper floors do not enjoy with their glass fronts. If going for a basic Junior Suite, I highly recommend requesting the second floor, any room between the elevators otherwise all you see is trees. Sadly, no afternoon sun as they are facing north. The bed was great, the auto-lights were handy, the honkin’ big TV was OK for screen size, but it was driven by an in-house system that takes a bit of getting used to. Annoying when adverts for the Maria Dolores popped up during a programme. Adequate number of electric outlets, even in the toilet “room”! The whole bathroom was very nice. Never used the tub, but it made for a good place to hang wet swimsuits. Used the rainfall shower once each, these fixtures seem to be more style than substance. Funny thing, everyday housekeeping would slide the walls shut and we would just push them back open again. Much easier to access that way. The closet section provided fairly adequate storage space, the upper shelves seemed odd as you can’t really reach them. The safe (only “laptop” sized for the smaller MacBook/Chromebooks) has a spring on the door to “pop” it open and makes it easy to notice when you have not properly locked it up. The built-in auto-lights are good. (but not for seeing in the safe) One of ours had a misaligned door switch so it was on all the time. However, bring clothes on HANGERS! Used every one provided with 10+ of my shirts still on the ones from home. The ONE thing that is amiss in the whole design / execution of the room is the credenza which houses the snack shelf, the wine & glasses and the refrigerator. You CANNOT in any way, shape or form put a heat generating device into an enclosed space and expect it function properly. Only by leaving the cupboard door open all the time (yet housekeeping would always close it) could we get the internal temperature down to “cold”. Note here to APM management, when possible (ok, like soon now that you are about to close down for a while, sorry about that) send in a maintenance crew with a drill and 3” hole saw to add at least 4 air ventilation holes each to the bottom and top of the fridge space. Then they will work properly with door closed. You’re welcome. The Restaurants. Visited them all except for the MD and the Mexican by the pool. (a weather permitting venue) Always had a lovely meal with attentive service. Also enjoyed (because we could) over in the Estudio section, the Calle di Luna, the Bikini Azul and (twice!) the Kopai with the super- cool food-on-a-conveyer-belt between the middle tables. Only picky complaint is that in trying to be posh(?), some location menus are rather hard to read, especially in dim lighting. Saw more than a few people pulling out the trusty mobile phone to utilise the camera light in order to see what was what. Also felt that the “Steakhouse” version of the Los Abrazos was better than the “Brazillian” version. But nice to sit outside up there if the weather is good. Seems that the “dress code” is never enforced anywhere. Saw one doofus wearing a backwards ball cap & beachwear in the Takeshi. Seriously? The morning brekkie spot in Mercado 19 was pretty much the same concept as any other AI resort, but they do kick it up a few notches with attentive service, good variety, made-to-order stations and if you really need it, Caesars & Mimosas! But you DO have to ask for the ketchup! The Bars. Service was always spot-on at the Don Fernando, the El Suspiro and especially the Bar de la Calle, the pool bars were a bit off, but considering the amount of business they do, it’s understandable. Unfortunately, the actual bar-on-the-beach closed down during most of our stay as the daily high winds just made it untenable. Poor beach servers had to then schlep all the way back to the pool. That justified a double-up on the tip. After 7 pm, go to the rooftop El Cielo Sky Bar normally restricted to the Inspira crowd during the day. The Pool. O...M....G...!!! I have NEVER seen so many resort towels in my life. (and we’ve been to TRS) Towels seem to be practically everywhere! However, the downside is that the vast majority of guests will vacate their loungers leaving the towels behind instead of helping out by placing them in the collection baskets. This leads to many chairs looking like they are occupied when they are not. Also means more work for the already busy staff, not cool people. The pool area has pretty much as many loungers that can be properly accommodated, but on “bad beach days” when many more guests than normal will head to the pool, the 6am game of reserve-your-spot does occur. During our stay, staff even brought up beach loungers to add to the pool compliment. Sadly this turned into often blocking pool access stairs and general overcrowding. At various times, staff organized volleyball games and once a week, a huge inflatable “obstacle” course which provided much merriment. Another note to Management here, if you add in an additional direct pathway along the side next to the golf course, from the bar area to the washrooms, both serving staff and guests will not have wind back & forth around the current pathway, also allowing guests there more privacy. A bit of enforcement of no smoking around or IN the pool rule would also be a big help. The Beach. It’s pretty good, save for the Red Flag days. (most of our time there) More than enough loungers and if arriving early enough, a “Bali Bed”, which for me I found less than comfortable due to its construction design. No traditional palapas, but when not too windy, a sunbrella can easily be obtained from the staff. Strangely after few days the rope hammocks over the water all disappeared. (hope they were not stolen...) Beach cleaning is done by both a tractor-pulled machine (not very effective) and hombres with rakes and a wheelbarrow. (very effective) Not much of true Sargasso “seaweed”, more like just blades of large grass. Enjoyed a daily long walk over to the marina (take a right turn) or as far as the Delphinus close by the Dreams, Secrets & TRS resorts in the other direction. It was interesting to observe how the other resorts catered to their sun-soaking guests. Drinks & food service was always available, but it’s a long walk for your waiter from the Trompo food court with your tacos, be cool and tip well. Saw the Inspira Club Only section, felt no envy. Sweating the small stuff now.... The pool restroom, (aka Bano Area de Alberca) was best I’ve ever seen. Always clean, usually cloth mini hand towels available, hand soap & lotion and these little squirty devices that kept them smelling quite pleasant. (same fragrance as in the main lobby I believe) A super nice touch was being fully air conditioned..... Despite the one open-air area by the convention centre complex, (a well used place, btw) should there be rainstorms, you can transit from the Bldg. 2 wing to the lobby, Cilentro, Mercado, etc. via the lower level Mercado “patio” to the stairs adjacent to the boardwalk that connects to the pool. Reverse plan for those in the Inspira wing. But staff will be on hand on both sides of the get-wet-zone to provide umbrellas if desired...... Not a really publicized thing apparently, but all the travel reps are hiding up in an area between the Inspira Club sales office and the Butik. Found ours on the last day...... In the rooms, the beach bag was a bonus, study and we found they were just big enough for our stuff. The robes were very nice, (found the belt a bit short) but the slippers were just adequate. Looked like they come in two sizes, if so and your feet are a size 9 or less, ask for the “Ladies”..... The resort is “Dog Friendly”, (saw only one the whole time) but they do accommodate by placing supplies of poopy bags and collection bins by the grassed area near where the Hookah Lounge is located. Sadly, too many guests think they are regular trash bins..... If you ask nicely, the daily mini-bar stocker will remove the red or white wine you don’t prefer and double up on the one you do..... Most of the room snacks will probably not travel well in your bag to the pool/beach in the heat of the day..... Do try the El Deseo theatre prior to the nightclub time, we enjoyed some pretty good entertainment there and not just the “house dance team” doing the same routine in different costumes like at lesser resorts..... There is NO “tienda” for shopping like at many resorts, except for the Butik which is pretty much high-end stuff, pricy Tequila only and sundries you should only buy if desperate..... You have probably seen mention of the new-ish Eco Tax payable to the hotel upon arrival. They don’t do that here. It’s done upon departure and when it comes up on the app room charges section, it’s surprising and seems to be indicated that it’s already be charged to a credit card when it really hasn’t.... The “red & green traffic lights” (memories of CUN T-3, yes?) on the room doorway can actually indicate both Enter & Don’t Enter at the same time..... They have recently installed some new “butt posts” on the far edge of the Trompo for smokers.... Can’t wrap up without mentioning the “infamous mobile app”. Downloaded before we even left home to get a feeling for the place. Once checked-in, the “I’m a Guest” was functional. I found it to be little more than a repurposing of what appears to be the architect’s original 3D modelling concept. It’s kinda fun as it zooms, it spins, but does not show all of the restaurants, bars, etc. by name. Took us a week to find the top floor steakhouse. Shows all the bathtubs in all the rooms, but no room numbers. Also for some unfathomable reason, it shows aircraft passing overhead, (like Flightradar24) when they are not. Seriously? Worst thing about it? It shows absolutely NO connection from the Atelier to the Estudio. (see the photo with the Green Circles) Even had some staff tell us this fact. We had to walk the looonnng way around from the Atelier El Suspiro, cross the pool bridge, down to the golf cart pathway, over around the Estudio El Suspiro and all the way up the north side of the building to the Estudio restaurants. Yet, THERE IS ONE!! One evening when the queue for the Takeshi was lengthy, a supervising chef who was there checking up on things, took a group of us through the secret passageway right into the Estudio 3rd. Floor. (it’s behind the Inspira Club sales offices) Also accessible via the Convention Centre lobby and I’ve posted a video of the entire circle route on YouTube. (search by the resort name to find it) Beyond that, the app seems to not show closed-for-the-evening venues, but gets that wrong sometimes and indicates “Reservations Required” when every restaurant host/hostess says, “nope”. Except for the name of the bar inside, no indication of the theatre. Obviously, the app & map needs a major overhaul to bring it up to 5 Star standards. Closing thoughts now, the aforementioned “wrist band” is super neat, stylish, a great souvenir, the embedded RFID chip is way high-tech and can be removed for showers or other activities. But! It can be taken off and left behind a locked room door if not careful, just sayin’. Overall, we were very pleased in our choice of this resort, booked it waaaay back during the soft opening period. It provided (almost) everything we wanted and then some. Highly Recommended. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Close to paradise

Mar 22, 2020 Yves C Couzeix, France

What a wonderful place ! Everything was perfect from the gigantic swimout suite to the service. We particularly enjoyed the design of the hotel : a mix of modern and traditional. The place is huge but it does not feel so. The restaurants are amazing and we have never been disappointed : everything is fresh and very nicely presented. Activities are… Read more
What a wonderful place ! Everything was perfect from the gigantic swimout suite to the service. We particularly enjoyed the design of the hotel : a mix of modern and traditional. The place is huge but it does not feel so. The restaurants are amazing and we have never been disappointed : everything is fresh and very nicely presented. Activities are offered throughout the day. In short it was a dream holiday despite some very noisy guests around the pool but there is not much the hotel can do if people can’t behave.... We’ll definitely visit again ! Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating The service was the best!

Mar 20, 2020 SerinaCalifornia California

When we checked in at Atelier, the receptionist: Andrian was very nice with a great smile, he was very willing and helpful whenever I asked him questions, such as restaurant suggestions or activities outside the hotel. Every hotel should have this kinda of receptionists.  It was a girl trip, five of us did enjoy everything the resort provided. The… Read more
When we checked in at Atelier, the receptionist: Andrian was very nice with a great smile, he was very willing and helpful whenever I asked him questions, such as restaurant suggestions or activities outside the hotel. Every hotel should have this kinda of receptionists.  It was a girl trip, five of us did enjoy everything the resort provided. The service from the staff is more than 5 star. I travel a lot , so far this is the best service I have ever received in my life. (I travel oversea about 5 times a year, and I have been to many different resorts in Cancun/ Caribbean.) The food was good, I do not normally take pictures of food, however, I  could not help myself, had to take a lot of pictures of the food. It was 4 of my girlfriends' first time to Cancun. I told them not to tip before going to the resort since everything was included, but we ended up tipping each time because the service was so good. I have been telling my husband about how great the service was at Atelier. My husband said: I will have to go with you next time, no more girl trip for you!  Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Amazing Resort

Mar 19, 2020 Schnaggs01

To be concise, this resort is incredible! I would question the disposition and/or sanity of anyone who gives this place less than 4 stars (and possibly 5). From the moment you arrive to be greeted by name to the time you check-out, everything about Atelier is high end and well executed. The rooms themselves are the nicest I've seen at any… Read more
To be concise, this resort is incredible! I would question the disposition and/or sanity of anyone who gives this place less than 4 stars (and possibly 5). From the moment you arrive to be greeted by name to the time you check-out, everything about Atelier is high end and well executed. The rooms themselves are the nicest I've seen at any beach resort, the food was excellent, and the pool service and pool itself was outstanding. To give some context, we had planned to do several snorkeling excursions on our trip, but Atelier was so nice we ended up just staying by the pool and beach all week instead. Only nit pick I could come up with is that food portions in certain restaurants are small, but then again, it's all-inclusive. If you're still hungry, just order more food ... problem solved. Would also note that nighttime entertainment is minimal here. This wasn't an issue for our group at all, but others might consider this a downside. We've vacationed at several different resorts along the Mayan Riviera over the last 10 years, and this was our best trip yet. Highly recommended! Finally, a big shout-out to Guadalupe who was our pool server during our stay. She was so friendly and would bring us our favorite drinks before we could even think to ask. Truly amazing service! Read less