Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle

Dupont Circle and Embassy Row, Washington DC

Virgin rating

The hotel

An award-winning luxury boutique hotel, the Royal Sonesta combines high-end art house design with sophistication and impeccable service. The dramatic two-story lobby sets the scene, complemented by bold artwork and marble flooring throughout. Guest rooms are some of the most spacious in Washington DC with a warm, inviting palate of colours and a wealth of modern amenities. For those intent on staying perfectly honed, there’s a well-equipped health centre on the second floor as well as a seasonal outdoor swimming pool complete with sundeck for relaxing in-between laps. In-room spa treatments* may also tempt you with massage and beauty rituals tailored to meet your needs. Every morning, complimentary tea and coffee is served in the living room, the perfect start to a perfect day. Come sundown, head back to the living room for a complimentary glass of wine and the chance to mingle with fellow guests. Adjacent to the hotel is Urbana Restaurant and Wine Bar, a hip downtown dining spot offering a contemporary approach to dishes from Italy, Spain and France. It’s a wonderful place to while away a relaxing evening or head to nearby Dupont Circle for a much wider choice of eateries plus some great bars and cafes.

Amenities

  • Babysitting service
  • Bar
  • Fitness Centre/Gym
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Swimming Pool
  • Close to City Centre

Where is it

Within 1-block of Dupont Circle, Embassy Row and the Philips Gallery. Access to Washington Metro is less than 2-blocks away and the Smithsonian Museum is within 2-miles.

Hotel information

335 rooms and suites. All with air-conditioning, satellite TV with pay-per-view films, DVD player, Atelier Bloem bath amenities, iHome docking station, tea/coffee making facilities, mini-bar*, safety deposit box, bathrobes, hairdryer and iron and board. Queen Deluxe Rooms have 1 queen-size bed, sleeping maximum 2 adults.

King Deluxe Rooms have 1 king-size bed, sleeping maximum 2 adults.

Executive King Rooms are larger, open-plan rooms at 500 sq ft, with 1 king-size bed, sleeping maximum 2 adults.

Executive 2 Queen Rooms are as above but with 2 queen-size beds, sleeping maximum 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children.

Spa King Rooms are 500 sq ft and feature a Fuji soaking tub and glass shower in the bathroom, with 1 king-size bed, sleeping maximum 2 adults.

Urbana (restaurant and bar, open for breakfast, dinner and weekend brunch). Complimentary tea/coffee served each morning in the living room. Outdoor lap pool with sundeck and food and beverage service* (seasonal). 24-hour fitness centre. In-room spa services*. 24-hour room service*. Concierge. Valet parking $49 plus tax, per day (payable locally, subject to change).

This hotel has a resort fee of $58 plus tax per room, per day (payable locally, subject to change)

*Denotes local charge.

Rating summary

  • Location Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Sleep Quality Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Rooms Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Service Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Value Image of the Tripadvisor rating
  • Cleanliness Image of the Tripadvisor rating

Traveller rating

  • Excellent (3066)
  • Very good (1244)
  • Average (383)
  • Poor (143)
  • Terrible (82)
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Unimpressive stay

May 14, 2022 moss1356 Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Stayed overnight for a sightseeing trip to DC. There was no restaurant operating so room service/breakfast was not an option. For the price I was really underwhelmed with our room/stay. I don't think there was even an a clock in our room.
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Great location, excellent staff, clean rooms, quiet

May 9, 2022 Asquared88

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Royal Sonesta in Dupont Circle for our 1-year wedding anniversary. The staff was excellent! We were checked in by Bruce and he made sure we were really well taken care of when we told him the occasion. The restaurant downstairs has recently reopened, and the waitresses were funny and had great… Read more
My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Royal Sonesta in Dupont Circle for our 1-year wedding anniversary. The staff was excellent! We were checked in by Bruce and he made sure we were really well taken care of when we told him the occasion. The restaurant downstairs has recently reopened, and the waitresses were funny and had great recommendations. The food was really good. The rooms were clean, the place was quiet. I sound like a broken record, but all of the staff was seriously great. They do a wine social hour every evening, which is a cool little perk. The location is perfect -- just off of embassy row, so we did a lot of wandering around and got to check out all of the different buildings for each country. You are within walking distance to great bars, restaurants, the metro, and bus stations. On Sunday they had a fantastic farmers market that we spent hours at. Would definitely stay here again if we ever make it back to DC! Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Still waiting for general manager response

Apr 23, 2022 AMITNSA London, United Kingdom

We stayed for one night, booked 2 rooms and we had a morning flight to catch next day. Although we were happy with the location of the hotel, I could not take a hot shower in the morning as the water was not warm enough. We have contacted customer services and still waiting for a reply about the inconvenience.
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Not staying here again.

Apr 22, 2022 keithlB8628SA Sayville, New York

The hotel is clean. My young children enjoyed the retro gaming system in the lobby. We stayed for 4 nights. On the day of checkout the cleaning staff knocked on our door multiple time,s early (pre 8am), just to "see" when we wanted cleaning. I was awake, but my children were not. I am now looking at a 5 hour drive with tired kids. We tend to stay… Read more
The hotel is clean. My young children enjoyed the retro gaming system in the lobby. We stayed for 4 nights. On the day of checkout the cleaning staff knocked on our door multiple time,s early (pre 8am), just to "see" when we wanted cleaning. I was awake, but my children were not. I am now looking at a 5 hour drive with tired kids. We tend to stay up late on vacation. I've been in enough hotels to know that this was done intentionally by the cleaning staff to "get the guests moving" so they could have an easier time cleaning. Sad and frustrating ending to an otherwise pleasant stay. Read less
Image of the Tripadvisor rating Favorite Hotel in The City

Apr 17, 2022 96jacquelineo

I love staying at the Royal Sonesta. Their spa rooms are amazing. The customer service is good, and the location in Dupont Circle is right in the middle of some great restaurants and bars. I'll definitely be back!